Life

A Very Congested Christmas

I spent Christmas 2013 posted up on the sofa with hot tea, soup, Netflix and the occasional smell of dog flatulence wafting through the air. Bah humbug.

While I had prided myself in staying healthy all winter last year, I wasn’t as lucky this year. I’m sure it had nothing to do with the amount of alcohol I drank on Monday night while gallivanting around town not wearing jacket. Definitely not related. Either way, I woke up this morning with a fever and a pool of snot on my pillow, with a throat so swollen that it hurt to swallow my vitamins. You’re welcome for that visual.

Merry Christmas :(

Merry Christmas 😦

It’s funny how when you’re sick you just want your mom to take care of you, no matter how old you are. One text message to my parents and my mom arrived with medicine, soup and other sick day essentials, even sticking around to do dishes and clean my kitchen. Go girl! I watched season 2 of Dexter on Netflix and made sure that the dogs got their daily cuddle quota.

Speaking of dogs, today is Vladimir’s 11th birthday! Doesn’t he look handsome in his Christmas bow tie?

Happy 11th birthday buddy!

Happy 11th birthday buddy!

One thing that did brighten my day was the pack of Cards Against Humanity cards that came in the mail. If you haven’t heard of it or signed up for it, you need to pay $12 to participate in the 12 Days of Cards Against Humanity next year. You get a surprise in the mail for 12 days in December, and here was the gem I received on Christmas Eve:

photo (4)So while this wasn’t the best Christmas I’ve ever had, things could be worse. Be thankful for what and who you have…and remember: a game of Cards Against Humanity with your family is NEVER awkward at all.

Leave a comment